hotel.stein

Switch to desktop

culture and museums in salzburg

during your holiday in salzburg you will learn to admire the multifaceted cultural landscape. especially when the notorious salzburg rains - the schnürlregen - have arrived, a visit to one of salzburg's museums is a delightful alternative to classic sightseeing.

you can see the most prominent museum right from the stein terrace: local and international art is displayed at the museum der moderne on the mönchsberg. also highly recommended are the collections from the carolino augusteum museum or the prince-bishop collections at thealten residenz. families on the other hand will feel especially comfortable at the haus der natur.

museums in salzburg

 museum der modernesalzburg
the museum der moderne salzburg consists of two buildings at two different locations: therupertinum near the festival theatre and the museum auf dem mönchsberg. together, both buildings possess a total exhibition floor space of 3,000sqm.
the rupertinum is housed in a baroque city palace which provides room for new artistic concepts in its spacious rooms. the site of the museum der moderne salzburg, located directly on the mönchsberg, is particularly impressive. the museum displays modern art of the 20th and 21st century in a coeval setting. 
both museums are within walking distance of hotel stein; an express lift is available at anton-neumayr-platz if you do not want to walk up the mönchsberg.

 salzburg museum
the city of salzburg accepted the collections of the salzburg museum carolino augusteum in 1852 as a municipal museum. the collections comprise a wide variety of archaeological objects from the fine arts, handcrafts, folklore and music from all periods of salzburg's cultural history. with its broad range of programmes, the museum carolino augusteum is interesting for both children and adults alike. you can study the different themes in greater detail at the various buildings belonging to the museum throughout the city. in any case, a visit to the main building in the neuen residenz is highly recommended. also worth a visit is the panorama museum, which shows a view of the city of salzburg from the year 1829. the "sattler panorama" is impressive because of its dimensions: the circular painting has a circumference of 26 metres with a height of five metres. especially interesting for families is the salzburg toy museum in the old bürgerspital, which is also a part of the carolino augusteum museum.

 haus der natur - natural history museum

dinosaurs, mammoths, sharks, astronauts – the museum of natural history haus der naturhas good reason for being a magnet for children who are eager to learn. the various levels of the museum located at anton-neumayr-platz reveal exciting worlds: from minerals to reptiles to space travel – a day at haus der natur seems to fly by. especially worth seeing are also the aquariums and terrariums in the ground floor of the building.

explore the museums of salzburg during your cultural holidays. send us a non-binding inquiry and stay in the heart of salzburg's old town centre.

More in this category: « shopping day trips »
FaLang translation system by Faboba

hotel.stein

Switch to desktop

Museen

Kultur und Museen in Salzburg

Bei Ihrem Urlaub in Salzburg werden Sie die abwechslungsreiche Kulturlandschaft dieser Stadt schätzen lernen. Besonders wenn der berühmte Salzburger Schnürlregen Einzug gehalten hat, ist ein Besuch in einem Salzburger Museum eine reizvolle Alternative zum klassischen Sightseeing.

Von der Steinterrasse können sie schon das exponierteste Salzburger Museum sehen: Im Museum der Moderne am Mönchsberg wird lokale und internationale Kunst gezeigt. Empfehlenswert sind auch die Sammlungen des Museums Carolino Augusteum oder die Fürsterzbischöflichen Sammlungen in der Alten Residenz. Familien wiederum fühlen sich im Haus der Natur besonders wohl. 

Museen in Salzburg

 Museum der Moderne Salzburg
Das Museum der Moderne Salzburg besteht aus zwei Häusern an zwei verschiedenen Standorten: Das Rupertinum in der Nähe des Festspielhauses und das Museum auf dem Mönchsberg. Beide Gebäude verfügen gesamt über eine Ausstellungfläche von 3.000 qm.
Das Rupertinum ist in einem barocken Stadtpalais untergebracht, das in seinen großzügigen Räumen Platz für neue künstlerische Konzepte schafft. Imposant ist der Standort des Museums der Moderne, direkt auf dem Mönchsberg. Das Museum zeigt moderne Kunst des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts in einem zeitgenössischen Rahmen.
Beide Museen erreichen sie vom Hotel Stein aus zu Fuß, wenn sie nicht auf den Mönchsberg wandern wollen, steht am Anton-Neumayr-Platz ein Expressaufzug zur Verfügung.

 Salzburg Museum
1852 übernahm die Stadt Salzburg die Sammlungen des Salzburger Museum Carolino Augusteum als Städtisches Museum. Die Sammlungen umfassen verschiedenste Objekte der Archäologie, der bildenden Kunst, des Kunsthandwerks, der Volkskunde und der Musik aus allen Epochen der Salzburger Kulturgeschichte. Mit seinem breiten Programmangebot spricht das Museum Carolino Augusteum Knder und Eltern gleichermaßen an. In verschiedenen Dependancen in der Stadt können Sie die unterschiedlichen Schwerpunkte der Museen genauer unter die Lupe nehmen. Auf jeden Fall einen Besuch wert ist das Haupthaus in der Neuen Residenz, ebenso wie das Panorama Museum, das eine Ansicht der Stadt Salzburg aus dem Jahr 1829 zeigt. Das „Sattler-Panorama“ beeindruckt durch seine Ausmaße: Das Rundgemälde misst einen Umfang von 26 Metern und fünf Meter Höhe. Besonders für Familien empfiehlt sich ein Besuch des Salzburger Spielzeugmuseums im alten Bürgerspital, ebenfalls unter der Regie des Carolino Augusteums.

 Haus der Natur
Dinosaurier, Mammuts, Haifische, Astronauten – das naturkundliche Museum Haus der Natur ist zu recht ein Magnet für wissbegierige Kinder. In den verschiedenen Etagen des Museums am Anton-Neumayr-Platz eröffnen sich spannende Welten: Von Mineralien über Reptilien bis hin zur Raumfahrt – ein Tag im Haus der Natur ist im Nu vorüber. Besonders sehenswert sind auch die Aquarien und Terrarien im Erdgeschoss des Hauses.

Verbringen sie den Kultururlaub im Hotel Stein mitten in der Salzburger Altstadt. Senden Sie uns noch heute eine unverbindliche Anfrage und erkunden sie die Salzburger Museen.

Mehr in dieser Kategorie: « Shopping Ausflugsziele »
FaLang translation system by Faboba